Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 18, 2018, 09:06:37 AM
Home Help Search Login Register

+  Yip!Jump Board
|-+  General Discussion
| |-+  Fan Forums
| | |-+  A humble request from Wikipedia
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: A humble request from Wikipedia  (Read 8552 times)
kzollman
Casper

View Profile
« on: January 07, 2007, 09:56:03 PM »

Hello all -

I am an editor and administrator for the English language Wikipedia.  For those of you who don't know our project, we are an open-content, user-written encyclopedia.  We have an article on Daniel Johnston.  Although currently we have a picture of him in his article, it is not clear that we have legal right to use this picture.  I would like to replace this picture with another, and I am requesting some from the members of this forum.  I noticed you have many on this site, many of which are very good.

There is a catch.  Wikipedia is committed to "copyleft" principles.  Which means all the content of Wikipedia must be able to be reproduced by others, so long as they also live up to our standards of being copyleft.  Wikipedia uses a license known as the GNU Free Documentation License.  In order for us to use an image, it must be licensed under this license or similar Creative Commons license.  Put simply, these licenses release the content to be used (and modified) by others so long as they share their work in the same way and they give the original author credit.

I am writing to see if anyone has any high quality pictures of Mr. Johnston which they might be willing to release under this license.  In order to do so, you must be the copyright owner of the photo (basically, you need to have taken the picture or purchased the rights from the person who did).  If you are such a person and would be willing to license your photo, we would very much appreciate it.   If you have a photo you would like to release or know someone who might, please contact me!