Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 12, 2017, 06:24:12 AM
Home Help Search Login Register

+  Yip!Jump Board
|-+  General Discussion
| |-+  Website Forum
| | |-+  I'm fine but how is everyone else?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: I'm fine but how is everyone else?  (Read 9619 times)
Psychotic State
Casper

View Profile
« on: May 06, 2008, 11:33:28 AM »

New to the board so I just wanted to say hi and give a little background. I'm 35, a male, and I work as a Psychiatric R.N. in a long-term Psychiatric Center. I'm passionate about mental health care which is the only field I've worked in as a nurse that's made sense... or where I feel I belong... on more than one level. I live with bipolar disorder and was really moved when I first saw the Devil and Daniel Johnston. I purchased the movie soon after seeing it, and it's had some impact on a few of the patients I care for as far as motivation and hope. I've played it on weekends when I can get some interested guys to hang out with me in the TV room and sit through the film. It's very few clients that can sit through it due to the severity of their illness... but still it reaches some... and some is obviously better than none. I work at a State Hospital... one of those ones that has it's historic 130 year old "Kirkbride" style building next to the newer building. The old one housing upwards of 3,500 souls, and the new with 250 beds. Deinstitutionalization being one of the few good things this country's politicians have worked on the past century.